About Mexico

The official name of Mexico is Estados Unidos Mexicanos.

Mexico is a federal constitutional republic located in North America. The Mexican republic comprises a federation of thirty-one states and a federal district. Its capital is Mexico City, which is one of the world’s most populous cities, with an estimated population of 23 million people. Covering almost 2 million square kilometers, Mexico is the 5th largest country in the Americas by total area and the 14th largest in the world. It is the 11th most populous country and the most populous Spanish-speaking country in the world.

Mexico is a traveler’s paradise, crammed with a multitude of opposing identities: desert landscapes, snow-capped volcanoes, ancient ruins, teeming industrialized cities, time-warped colonial towns, glitzy resorts, lonely beaches and a world-beating collection of flora and fauna.

Mexico’s profusion of people and landscapes reflects the country’s extraordinary history, part Amerindian, part Spanish. Despite the considerable colonial legacy and rampant modernization, almost 60 distinct indigenous peoples survive, largely thanks to their rural isolation. This mix of modern and traditional, the cliched and the surreal, is the key to Mexico’s immense popularity as a travel destination, whether your passion is throwing back margaritas, listening to howler monkeys, surfing the Mexican Pipeline, scrambling over Mayan ruins or expanding your Day of the Dead collection of posable skeletons.

Here some statistics of our country:


Mexico covers an area of 1,964,375 sq. km., 1,959,248 of which are on the mainland and 5,127 of which are islands. There is also an Exclusive Economic Zone of territorial sea comprising 3,149,920 sq. km., meaning that the total area of the country is 5,114,295 sq. km.

The outer coordinates of Mexican territory are:
• North: 32° 43´ 06´ north, at Monument 206, on the border with the United States of America (3,152.90 km).
• South: 14° 32´ 27´north, at the mouth of the Suchiate River, on the border with Guatemala (1,149.8 km).
• East: 86° 42´ 36´ west, in the far southeast of Isla Mujeres.
• West: 118° 27’ 24’ at Punta Roca Elefante on Isla Guadalupe in the Pacific Ocean.

Mexico comprises 32 states, the capital of which is the Federal District, where the branches of government are located.


Mexico has borders with the United States of America, Guatemala and Belize, totaling 4,301 kilometers distributed as follows:

• The frontier with the United States of America, from Monument 258 in the northeast of Tijuana to the mouth of the Rio Grande in the Gulf of Mexico, is 3,152 km long. Border states in the north of the country include Baja California, Sonora, Chihuahua, Coahuila and Nuevo León.
• Mexico shares a 956-km border with Guatemala and a 193-km frontier with Guatemala (excluding the 85,266-km maritime border in Chetumal Bay. The border states in the south and southeast of the country are: Chiapas, Tabasco, Campeche and Quintana Roo.


Mexico has a population of 112,322,757 million inhabitants, according to the most recent census by the Instituto Nacional de Estadísticas, Geografía e Informática (2010), with an ethnic composition of 60% mestizo, 30% Indian, 9% European and 1% other.

The official language of Mexico is Spanish and it has over 66 Indian languages; the local currency is the Mexican peso.


* Information taken from the Presidency of Mexico website.

Leave a Reply